Emerald Business Systems Blog


Customer Service and Gift Cards: A Cautionary Tale

Posted in General Business by ebs4pos on September 26, 2009

I recently had the opportunity to take a week-long vacation around the Labor Day holiday. You know, one of the prime shopping holidays of the year. I was looking for some fall clothes with the American Express gift cards I received due to my being a loyal member, accruing enough points for a $25 and $50 one.

I used the $25 one with no issue. When I was in line at Express buying sweaters using my $50 card, the fun really began. The order could not be completed. Obviously, this was annoying on all fronts. There was a line of people behind me, and the cashier got his manager to come over and call American Express, trying to get the issue ironed out. After being on hold for 15 minutes, a live person finally took the call and refused to talk to the manager. He wanted to speak with me.

via CRM Magazine Blog » Customer Service and Gift Cards: A Cautionary Tale.

Leave a Reply

