Emerald Business Systems Blog


Death By Mobile Coupon

Posted in Online Business,POS,Retail,Social Media Marketing by ebs4pos on September 30, 2009

My heart sank as I came to the head of the line at Borders this weekend. Methuselah was my check-out person and I had a mobile coupon. The 30% off promotion wasn’t even directly from Borders.

As some veterans of this column may recall, I have a longstanding bone to pick with that bookstore chain. It had a perfectly reasonable SMS couponing service more than a year ago that it unceremoniously yanked from its customers. Now I have to rely on third-party coupon scrapers like the MobiQpons, which seem to aggregate Web coupons — nicely, I might add. But I am never sure if the cashier is going to recognize and honor the offer or have a meltdown and start looking around the cash register for the training book.

via Death By Mobile Coupon @MediaPost @stevesmith – ajimmything’s posterous.

Leave a Reply

