Emerald Business Systems Blog


15 Bedtime Stories that Keep Entrepreneurs Awake at Night

Posted in General Business by ebs4pos on October 24, 2009

I do most of my reading at night. In fact, there’s a stack of books on my nightstand that has become a standing joke with my husband. I choose my reading like you might choose a meal at a restaurant – just depends on what I have a taste for. Lately, I’ve had a hankering for short books that teach me something in a new and interesting way.

About a week ago, I received a review copy of David Ingram’s book called “15 Bedtime Stories That Keep Entrepreneurs Awake at Night.” I thought that was an interesting title to a book. When I saw that the introduction started with “Who doesn’t love a good bedtime story…, “ I was looking forward to a whole new twist on entrepreneurial business lessons learned through stories and with a moral at the end that wraps up the lesson in a nice little package.

15 Bedtime Stories aren’t really bedtime stories at all. They are 15 real-life stories of what NOT to do as an entrepreneur:

Bedtime-stories

1. Don’t Run Out of Cash

2. Don’t Ignore Trusted Advisors

3. Don’t Lock Your Doors

4. Don’t Isolate Yourself

5. Don’t Compromise Your Ethics

6. Don’t Avoid Confrontation

7. Don’t Let Your Company Depend on Just You

8. Don’t Cut Corners

9. Don’t Try to Do Everything

10. Don’t Rely on One Customer

11. Don’t Be a Scrooge

12. Don’t Hire and Fire Haphazardly

13. Don’t Ignore Worst Case Scenarios

14. Don’t Mess Around with Rotten Attitudes

15. Don’t Tolerate Sloppy and Off-Color Communication

via 15 Bedtime Stories that Keep Entrepreneurs Awake at Night | Small Business Trends.

Leave a Reply

