Emerald Business Systems Blog


Hey, Waiter! Just How Much Extra Do You Really Expect? – City Room Blog – NYTimes.com

Posted in Bars and Taverns,POS,Restaurant by ebs4pos on February 28, 2010

“Do you need change?”Funny you should ask, because I just gave you a $10 bill, and my latte and raspberry scone came to $5.75. As much as I think you’re pleasing to look at, and you do magical things with frothy milk, I just don’t see your services commanding a 70-plus percent premium over the market rate for my breakfast. And you, my dear bartender, who cracked open a $4 beer bottle, and handed me back my change entirely in a stack of one-dollar notes. Very subtle. As though the sheer bulk of that paper would deter me from putting it back in my wallet, and, defeated, I’d simply leave it there for you like a burnt offering on your sticky altar.At least you two left me a choice, unlike the menu last night, whose fine print stated how “parties of six or more will be charged a 20 percent gratuity.” Because there’s simply no way that six adults can gauge the service of a meal one of hundreds in their lives with any degree of accuracy. Better to just slap us with a perfunctory tax and screw up our orders anyway. Once that tip is locked in, who cares if the fish is cold?

via Hey, Waiter! Just How Much Extra Do You Really Expect? – City Room Blog – NYTimes.com.

Leave a Reply

